I Just Love Irony

So there I was staring blankly at a new Microsoft Word document and there was a new Microsoft Word document staring equally blankly back at me. “What shall I write in my Blog this evening?” I mused. I had spent a hard day, with family and friends pontificating about the benefits of owning a Kindle and how easy it would be for them to publish the novel that is supposedly resident inside all of us. As the pristine white page continued to shine out from the screen of my laptop, I decided…I would continue the theme of the day and write a blog about how easy it is to self-publish. I started to type. ‘It is surprisingly…. ‘

“Oi ’ang on a minute geezer.” A voice in my head piped up. It was the voice that, when it looks like I’m getting too big for my boots, pops up and reminds me who I am and where I come from. “You wanna give that poor reader of yours the benefit of your wisdom on a subject that you have no first-hand knowledge of?” This was an exceedingly good point I had to concede.

My knowledge of self-publication is, indeed, a result of talking to others and reading their Blogs. In that moment I started out upon the path to publication. I selected a number of short stories and dutifully set about the arduous task of re-editing the selection and formatting the stories for the Kindle. Those who have already been published will know the extent of that task and I have commented on the importance of checking your work thoroughly before uploading it in my blog post ‘Can a Spell Chick Catch my Witch?’

In the end the process for publication was fairly straight forward and once I had done it I gleefully scrolled through the uploaded book. I got to the end and suddenly realized that I had not taken my own advice to get the work proof read. There was a stray sentence. A perfectly well constructed and spelled sentence. It was just an exact copy of the previous one… Ah, the irony.

Well, as I said the process was fairly straight forward and now I have a book of very, very short stories in the Kindle store. I hope to put more stuff on in the fullness of time. In the meantime, enjoy!

 

Tiny1

 

If you have 99 cents or 77p to spare download it and you can get your own back.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 18:13:24

    Go you, clever boy x

    Reply

  2. maureenjiturner
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:32:06

    I’ve just purchased Tiny Tales. I’ll return the reviewing favour. Have a good weekend.

    Reply

  3. lincsdave
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 10:25:25

    Thank you Maureen. Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner, I’ve been away for a week. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

